A Great Deliverance


The BBC produced the first eleven of her nineteen Inspector Lynley books and the series was picked up by PBS. I enjoyed the series without having read any of the books.

Deliverance is her first book and the first of the series. The character development drove the story as few books are able to accomplish.  Getting to know Lynley–an earl who prefers being a copper–and his sergeant–the unlovable Barbara Havers–was the most delightful part of the story. And the story is powerful, full of miscues and misunderstandings.

I look forward to the next in the series.

Mike Lawrence

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s